About LAU

Governance and Administration

Councils and Committees

Executive officers, faculty, staff, and student representatives, participate in university governance by serving on the following councils, committees, and other bodies. The mandates, compositions, terms, and methods of operation of these bodies are regulated by their respective bylaws.

President’s Cabinet

The President’s Cabinet acts as the top consulting and advisory body to the President on all matters that affect the well-being of the university. It ensures that the university is successfully meeting its mission, vision and goals. It has been operating since the summer of 2005.

Council of Deans

As the highest academic council, the Council of Deans leads all academic matters at the university, acting as:

  1. An advisory body to the Provost and the President, and to other parties when it comes ot academic programs, processes, and procedures.
  2. A liaison body among the heads of the academic units, promoting discussion and exchange of ideas on the effective management of their schools.

Student Affairs Council

As the highest student council, the Student Affairs Council acts as an advisory body to the Vice President for Student Development and Enrollment Management and the President, on all matters related to student life. It also serves as a liaison with all the relevant offices, regarding issues that affect student affairs on campus, to foster discussion and exchange of ideas on how to best serve students in a healthy and productive atmosphere.

University Planning Council

The University Planning Council serves as LAU’s collective think tank, bringing various entities together to discuss and develop methods and means that will assist the university in achieving its mission, vision and goals. It provides advice to the President on all matters relating to long- and mid-term planning, as well as strategic and conceptual university directives and goals.

Faculty Senate

The Faculty Senate, which includes some standing committees, is the main advisory body engaging faculty in LAU’s governance on issues such as academics, faculty status, operating budget, and more. It is composed of 34 members, equally allocated between the two campuses. In addition, each school elects departmental or divisional representatives to the Senate. For more information on the Senate functions, members, structure, constitution, bylaws, meetings, reports and relevant topics, visit the Faculty Senate website.

Standing University Councils of the Faculty

The standing university councils of the faculty provide policy and program leadership to all areas of the university. Faculty members of councils representing schools are elected by the school’s full-time faculty, while senate members of councils are chosen by the Faculty Senate. Student members of councils are elected by the students themselves. All elections of faculty members occur before the end of the spring semester, and new members assume their responsibilities at the beginning of the following academic year.

  1. Faculty Grievance Council
  2. Faculty Welfare and Promotion Council
  3. University Admissions and Financial Aid Council
  4. University Curriculum Council
  5. University Graduate and Research Council (UGRC)
  6. University Library and Information Resources Council

Staff Advisory Council

The Staff Advisory Council consists of elected representatives from each department to allow staff to participate in the governance of LAU. It serves as an advisory body and a forum for LAU staff members to voice their concerns.

Other Councils and Committees

  1. Campus Life Council
  2. Committees of Peers
  3. Institutional Review Board (IRB)
  4. Special Committees of the Faculty